The announcement comes just weeks ahead of the GREENWEEZ Paris Premier Padel Major taking place at the iconic Stade Roland-Garros from July 11TH

Download Press Release

ROME, LONDON, DOHA, PARIS – 5 JULY 2022 – CANAL+ has become the latest broadcaster to commit to Premier Padel after the Vivendi owned broadcaster agreed a deal to showcase padel’s leading Tour to more than 60 global territories including France.

CANAL+ has agreed a multi-year deal and will begin its Premier Padel coverage with July’s Greenweez Paris Premier Padel Major taking place at the iconic Stade Roland-Garros. The tournament gets underway on July 11th, concluding on the 17th.

This news further highlights the growing global popularity of the sport since the launch of Premier Padel, the official global padel tour – governed by the International Padel Federation (FIP) and backed by the Professional Padel Association (PPA) and Qatar Sports Investments (QSI).

May’s Italy Premier Padel Major had the biggest reach of any event in padel’s history after the tournament was broadcast in 167 territories globally, surpassing the 156 regions that showed the inaugural event, the Ooredoo Qatar Major 2022 in March, further highlighting the fact that Premier Padel once again is proving popular with the world’s leading media outlets.

Luigi Carraro, President of the International Padel Federation said: “We are delighted to add CANAL+ to our world-class portfolio of international broadcasters. The response to Premier Padel has been breath-taking and we look forward to padel fans at the venue and fans watching on from all over the world enjoying the upcoming Greenweez Paris Premier Padel Major at Stade Roland-Garros. One of the most historic venues in the world will welcome the fastest growing sport in the world, it’s one not to be missed.”

Thomas Sénécal, CANAL+ Director of Sports said: “CANAL+ has always been a great supporter of emerging sports. Offering Premier Padel to all our subscribers worldwide is a perfect example of this. We’ll provide complete coverage, enhanced by the knowledge of our experts. Launching our Premier Padel coverage with the Major in France at the prestigious setting of Roland-Garros? We couldn’t dream of anything better! We look forward to seeing you in 10 days. Padel is becoming more and more popular, and we are very proud to be one of the leading broadcasters showcasing the sport globally in our territories and in France until 2026. CANAL+ is indeed the home of padel!”

Premier Padel will host at least ten (10) new tournaments in 2022 – including four category one “Major” events. The first major – the Ooredoo Qatar Major 2022 – took place in Doha in March, with the Italy Premier Padel Major concluding in historic Foro Italico last month. The other category one tournaments are the Greenweez Paris Premier Padel Major at Stade Roland-Garros taking place from 11th July to 17th July, and the Mexico Premier Padel Major at the Club Sonoma en Monterrey, México from 28th November to 4th December.

The Madrid Premier Padel P1 taking place from August 1st to 6th will be the inaugural category two tournament, followed very quickly by the Argentina Premier Padel P1 which takes place from 8th to 14th August.

More announcements on additional tournaments and broadcast details to follow very soon.



Premier Padel media enquiries

For more information please email


About Premier Padel

Premier Padel is the official professional padel tour governed by the International Padel Federation (FIP) and backed by the Professional Padel Association (PPA). Launched in February 2022, Premier Padel will stage at least 10 tournaments globally in 2022 and 2023, including four “Majors” in Doha (March), Rome (May), Paris (July) and Mexico (December) this year. From 2024, Premier Padel will host at least 30 tournaments annually as the tour continues to grow the sport in new territories and in every dimension. As a global brand, Premier Padel also captures the dynamic essence and exciting spirit of padel, with the sport embarking on an exciting new dawn on a global scale driven by the new tour.




ESPN Costa Rica, Domican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela. Anguilla, Antigua, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Barbuda, Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Isles, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Falkland Islands, French Guyana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Martin, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos.
VIAPLAY Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania, Sweden, Norway, Denmark,Iceland, Finland, Netherlands, Poland
beIN MENA (Algeria, Bahrain, Chad, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, UAE, Yemen), USA, Canada, Thailand, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Brunei, Singapore, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Turkey
CANAL+ France (including DROM POM COM: Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique, Reunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre et Miquelon, French Southern and Antarctic lands, and Wallis et Futuna), Andorra, Monaco, Switzerland*, Haiti, Sub-Saharan Africa (Angola, Burundi, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Senegal, Seychelles, Socotra, Sudan, South Sudan, Eswatini, St. Helena and Ascension, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zanzibar, and Zimbabwe),  Czech Republic*, Slovakia*, Belgium, Netherlands, Romania, Hungary, Vietnam, Myanmar and Poland.

*Switzerland, Czech Republic, Slovakia: Canal+ rights start on January 1st, 2024.

Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin and Haiti will be shared non-exclusively with ESPN in the territories.

SUPERSPORT Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Republic of), Cote d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia (including Somaliland), South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and the following islands: Cape Verde, Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte, Reunion, Socotra, St. Helena and Ascension and Seychelle.
SKY Italy, San Marino, Vatican City , Germany, Austria, & Switzerland, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, South Tyrol, UK & Ireland
ARENA Czech Republic, Slovakia
YOUTUBE All other territories